Tethered to Love

heart-treeOne of the best things in life is when a scent transports me back to a comforting memory. I especially savor the moments when I’m whisked into a holy instant of unconditional love and acceptance. Do you know what I mean? I hope you do. It’s that place where time is suspended and the soul is lovingly held in the arms of the Divine. It’s where I’m not good or bad, just completely loved. It’s amazing to think that a smell can do all that!

Sometimes, though, an odour provokes a primal response in me so overwhelming that I get sucked into a black hole of hopelessness and despair. Feelings of anger and rage begin to surface and memories that I try to avoid show up uninvited. What do I do?! Do I feel deeply or do I run away and slam the door on a healing opportunity?

For years I’ve been the queen of distraction when this comes up for me. I read, do the dishes, take a shower. I’m very good at shifting my state of mind into a more positive place, which is a good skill, but not when it’s used as a form of avoidance.

I’ve finally learned to allow myself to descend into that black hole, aware that I’m tethered to the infinite love of my Divine Parent. I can allow the hurt and rage to purge itself knowing I can’t get stuck because I have a lifeline back to Love.

Now, I didn’t always know or believe this and there was a time when I would get stuck in the black hole. I needed real, live people in the form of counselors or healers to join me and teach me how to tether myself back to Love. If you find yourself in this position, then please know you are exactly where you are meant to be on this journey. Allow yourself to be guided and nurtured by others as you heal and grow.

Wherever you find yourself today, may you be blessed to always find your way back to Love.

Scent

One thought on “Tethered to Love

Leave a Reply

